Meeting with survivors 2015 - 70th anniversary of the liberation

In 2015 the 70th anniversary of the liberation of the Vaihingen concentration camp and the end of the Second World War was probably the last opportunity to invite survivors of the camp as guests to Vaihingen. By way of preparation the addresses of 30 former inmates of the camp who were still alive were found. The City of Vaihingen/Enz represented by Mayor Gerd Maisch immediately agreed, together with the Memorial Foundation, to extend invitations to them and put together a programme for April 2015. The date agreed upon was the 7th April – the date of the liberation. In the event 8 survivors with their relatives as well as relatives whose father, grandfather or husband had previously died or had died in the camp came to Vaihingen between 9th and 12th April 2015.


Survivors meet students

+

From Poland came Boleslaw Urbanski, Jerzy Wojciewski and Eugeniusz Dabrowski, all three of whom live in Warsaw as of 2015. Isaak Akerman, who was born in Danzig, and his wife Rachel came over from Haifa in Israel. 94 year old Jules Schelvis, who as of 2015 lives in Amstelveen and who has been closely connected with the memorial for many years and has visited a number of times, came to Vaihingen to commemorate the anniversary. Together with their relatives Manny Steinberg, Benjamin Zysman and Ted Weisbord flew in from the U.S.A. to visit the scene of their terrible suffering.

Vordere Reihe von links nach rechts: Benjamin Zysman, Jerzy Wojciewski, Boleslaw Urbanski, dahinter: Eugeniusz Dabrowski
Front row from left to right: Benjamin Zysman, Jerzy Wojciewski, Boleslaw Urbanski, behind: Eugeniusz Dabrowski
Die Überlebenden bei der offiziellen Begrüßung im Löwensaal der Stadthalle
Official welcome in the townhall with the survivors in the first row

On Friday 10th April for about 90 minutes the 8 survivors answered the questions of around 70 students of the Stromberg and Friedrich Abel Grammar Schools in Vaihingen/Enz. The motivated and well-informed pupils, who had either worked on two theatre projects dealing with the topic or had made use of the unique opportunity to participate in an “alternative” history lesson during the holidays, were deeply impressed by the reports of the former inmates. The pupils were surprised and moved above all by the warm-heartedness and openness they were shown both by the victims and their families. Asked how he had managed to survive, Benjamin Zysman explained that it was the need to report to posterity the enormity of what had happened.

Official welcome

+

The significance and warm atmosphere of the meeting, which falls back on a long tradition, became especially apparent on 11th April 2015 during the official welcome ceremony in the Löwensaal of the City Assembly Hall. In a very personal speech, survivor Isaak Akermann stressed how important the visit was for the survivors themselves and referred to the respect in which he holds both the long-lasting hospitality of the City of Vaihingen/Enz and above all the dedication and work of the members of the memorial team. In an emotional speech Ms. Wendelgard von Staden focussed on the fact that her generation had built up a different Germany, that soon there would be no more survivors and witnesses to tell their story first-hand and that therefore this meeting was unique and would probably be the last of its kind. She thanked the survivors for not having rejecting the efforts of the City and the Memorial Foundation at reconciliation and for having the courage to accept the invitation.

Commemoration ceremony on the occasion of the 70th anniversary of the liberation

+

The real climax of the visit was, however, undoubtedly the memorial commemoration at the cemetery of honour of the former concentration camp which took place on Sunday, 12th April at 11 a.m. Through attending this hour-long and dignified commemoration the 300 participants sent out a clear signal for tolerance and human dignity. They had come to remember the 1700 victims of Vaihingen concentration camp and the unimaginable suffering that the Nazis had subjected them to. For the 8 survivors and their families present as well as the relatives of other former inmates who had travelled specially from Poland, the U.S.A. Norway and Germany this great response and the efforts of the Vaihingen/Enz Memorial Foundation was an important confirmation that the events that took place at Vaihingen concentration camp and its victims would not be forgotten and that there would be no end to the historical treatment and investigation into the inconceivable deeds and actions of those days.

Gedenkfeier mit Überlebenden anlässlich des 70. Jahrestages der Befreiung am 12. April 2015 - im Vordergrund von rechts nach links die Überlebenden Isaak Akerman aus Israel, Manny Steinberg (†) aus den USA und Eugeniusz Dabrowski aus Polen
Commemoration ceremony on the occasion of the 70th anniversary of the liberation on 12th April 2015 – in the foreground from right to left the survivors Isaak Akerman from Israel, Manny Steinberg (†) from the USA und Eugeniusz Dabrowski from Poland
Rund 300 Bürger nahmen an der Feier teil.
About 300 citizens participated in the ceremony.

Survivor Boleslaw Urbanski from Warsaw called in his speech upon the living to show more harmony, understanding and solidarity. People should show respect for the dead and honour the memory of the events and the victims. Literally, he said, “Today there is no reason to make accusations; it is not a question of revenge or apportioning blame for past deeds. The time has come for reconciliation. The most important thing is to tend truthful memory and the frank expression of what one experienced. (…) Hatred leads nowhere; harmony and understanding are what really matter.”

After this, the participants commemorated the victims in their different ways: through Christian prayer; the Jewish Kaddish was spoken by survivor Benjamin Zysman from the U.S.A.; while roses were placed in silent remembrance on the graves.

Positive conclusion

+

The many encounters and intensive conversations between City representatives, the City Council and the Vaihingen/Enz Memorial Foundation on the one hand and the survivors and families on the other during meals and the various events

Vertreter der Stadt Vaihingen/Enz, Dr. Lehner vom Gedenkstättenverein und der Überlebende Isaak Akermann aus Israel
Representative of the City of Vaihingen/Enz, Dr. Lehner from the association and survivor Isaak Akermann from Israel

deepened the relations and friendship and formed the basis for the frank and cordial atmosphere of the whole event. Mainly responsible for its success were the participation of Mayor Maisch and the excellent organisation by the Vaihingen/Enz press officer, Ms. Fischer, and her team.

Treffen anlässlich des 70. Jahrestages der Befreiung April 2015

Zum vermutlich letzten Male bot der 70. Jahrestag der Befreiung des KZ Vaihingen und des Kriegsendes im Jahr 2015 die Gelegenheit noch einmal Überlebende des Lagers als Gäste nach Vaihingen einzuladen. Im Vorfeld wurden die Adressen von etwa 30 noch lebenden früheren Insassen des Lagers ausfindig gemacht. Die Stadt Vaihingen/Enz in der Person des Oberbürgermeisters Gerd Maisch signalisierte sofort Bereitschaft gemeinsam mit dem Gedenkstättenverein die Einladungen auszusprechen und ein entsprechendes Programm für den April 2015 auszuarbeiten. Terminlich orientierte man sich am 7. April – dem Tag der Befreiung. Schließlich kamen 8 Überlebende mit ihren Angehörigen, aber auch Angehörige, deren Väter, Großvater bzw. Ehemann schon gestorben bzw. im Lager umgekommen waren, zwischen dem 9. und 12. April 2015 nach Vaihingen.


Überlebende treffen Schüler

+

Aus Polen reisten Boleslaw Urbanski, Jerzy Wojciewski und Eugeniusz Dabrowski an. Alle drei leben heute (Stand 2015) in Warschau. Der gebürtige Danziger Isaak Akerman mit seiner Frau Rachel kam aus Haifa in Israel. Der der Gedenkstätte schon lange Jahre eng verbundene 94 – jährige Jules Schelvis – heute (Stand 2015) in Amstelveen lebend – war zum wiederholten Male in Vaihingen, um den Jahrestag zu begehen. Manny Steinberg, Benjamin Zysman und Ted Weisbord flogen aus den USA nach Deutschland, um gemeinsam mit ihren Angehörigen die ehemalige Stätte ihres schrecklichen Leidens aufzusuchen.

Vordere Reihe von links nach rechts: Benjamin Zysman, Jerzy Wojciewski, Boleslaw Urbanski, dahinter: Eugeniusz Dabrowski
Vordere Reihe von links nach rechts: Benjamin Zysman, Jerzy Wojciewski, Boleslaw Urbanski, dahinter: Eugeniusz Dabrowski
Die Überlebenden bei der offiziellen Begrüßung im Löwensaal der Stadthalle
Die Überlebenden bei der offiziellen Begrüßung im Löwensaal der Stadthalle

Rund 1,5 Stunden standen die 8 Überlebenden am Freitag, dem 10. April den rund 70 Schülern des Stromberg – und des Friedrich – Abel Gymnasiums Vaihingen/Enz Rede und Antwort. Die motivierten und informierten Schüler, die entweder in zwei Theaterprojekten sich mit der Thematik befassen oder für den Unterricht die wohl einmalige Gelegenheit einer etwas „anderen Geschichtsstunde“ in den Ferien beim Schopfe packten, waren von den Ausführungen der ehemaligen Häftlinge tief beeindruckt. Vor allem davon, dass diese ihnen mit viel Herzlichkeit und vorbehaltlos entgegentraten, überraschte sie ebenso wie die eigenen Familienangehörigen. Der Überlebende Benjamin Zysman danach gefragt, wie er es geschafft habe, zu überleben, führte aus, dass ein Hauptgrund der war, das Unfassbare der Nachwelt weiterzuvermitteln.

 

Offizielle Begrüßung

+

Besonders am Samstag, den 11. April 2015 bei der offiziellen Willkommensfeier im Löwensaal der Stadthalle kam die Bedeutung und herzliche Atmosphäre der Begegnung, die auf eine lange Tradition beruht, zum Ausdruck. In einer sehr persönlichen Ansprache stellte der Überlebende Isaak Akerman heraus, wie wichtig der Besuch für die Überlebenden selbst sei und welche Hochachtung er sowohl gegenüber der langwährenden Gastfreundschaft der Stadt Vaihingen/Enz und vor allem gegenüber der Hingabe und der Arbeit der Mitarbeiter der Gedenkstätte habe. Dass ihre Generation ein anderes Deutschland nach dem Kriege aufgebaut habe und dass es bald keine Zeitzeugen mehr gebe und deshalb ein solches Treffen ein- und wahrscheinlich letztmalig ist, waren Schwerpunkte bei Frau Wendelgard von Stadens emotionaler Ansprache. Sie bedankte sich bei den Überlebenden dafür, die Bemühungen seitens der Stadt und der Gedenkstätte nicht abgewiesen zu haben, sondern ihrerseits den Mut aufbrachten, der Einladung Folge zu leisten.

Gedenkfeier anlässlich des 70. Jahrestages der Befreiung

+

Der eigentliche Höhepunkt des Treffens war aber zweifelslos die Gedenkfeier auf dem KZ – Ehrenfriedhof, die am Sonntag, den 12. April um 11 Uhr stattfand. Durch ihr Beiwohnen der einstündigen, würdevollen Feier setzten rund 300 Besucher ein Zeichen für Toleranz und Menschenwürde. Sie kamen um den 1700 Opfern des KZ – Vaihingen und den unvorstellbaren Leiden der Überlebenden, die ihnen durch die Nazis zugefügt wurden, zu gedenken. Für die 8 anwesenden Überlebenden und ihre Angehörigen, sowie für weitere Verwandte von Häftlingen des Lagers, die extra aus Polen, den USA, Norwegen und Deutschland angereist waren, gab diese große Resonanz und die Arbeit der KZ – Gedenkstätte Vaihingen/Enz e.V. eine starke Bestätigung dafür, dass die Geschehnisse im KZ – Vaihingen und die Opfer nicht vergessen werden und dass die geschichtliche Aufarbeitung, sowie das Weitergeben des Unfassbaren nicht aufhört.

Gedenkfeier mit Überlebenden anlässlich des 70. Jahrestages der Befreiung am 12. April 2015 - im Vordergrund von rechts nach links die Überlebenden Isaak Akerman aus Israel, Manny Steinberg (†) aus den USA und Eugeniusz Dabrowski aus Polen
Gedenkfeier mit Überlebenden anlässlich des 70. Jahrestages der Befreiung am 12. April 2015 – im Vordergrund von rechts nach links die Überlebenden Isaak Akerman aus Israel, Manny Steinberg (†) aus den USA und Eugeniusz Dabrowski aus Polen
Rund 300 Bürger nahmen an der Feier teil.
Rund 300 Bürger nahmen an der Feier teil.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Der Überlebende Boleslaw Urbanski aus Warschau mahnte in seiner Rede die Lebenden zu mehr Eintracht und Verständigung. Vor den Toten solle man sich respektvoll verneigen und sich der Geschehnisse und der Opfer ehrenvoll erinnern. Wörtlich sagte er: „Es ist heute kein Grund zur Anklage, es geht nicht um Vergeltung, noch um Schuldzuweisung zu vergangenen Taten. Die Zeit zur Versöhnung ist gekommen. Am Wichtigsten ist uns die Pflege der wahrheitsgetreuen Erinnerung, der offen Mitteilung des Erlebten. (…) Hass führt zu nichts, wichtiger ist die Eintracht.“

Abschließend gedachten die Teilnehmer auf verschiedene Weise der Opfer: durch das christliche Gebet, durch das jüdische Kaddisch gesprochen vom Überlebenden Benjamin Zysman aus den USA und dadurch, dass Rosen in stillem Gedenken an den Gräbern niedergelegt wurden.

Positives Fazit

+

Die vielen Begegnungen und intensiven Gespräche zwischen den Vertretern der Stadt, des Stadtrates und des Vereins KZ – Gedenkstätte Vaihingen/Enz einerseits und den Überlebenden und Angehörigen andererseits bei den Mahlzeiten und den verschiedenen Programmpunkten

Vertreter der Stadt Vaihingen/Enz, Dr. Lehner vom Gedenkstättenverein und der Überlebende Isaak Akermann aus Israel
Vertreter der Stadt Vaihingen/Enz, Dr. Lehner vom Gedenkstättenverein und der Überlebende Isaak Akermann aus Israel

vertieften die Beziehungen und Bekanntschaften und waren Grundlage für die offene und herzliche Atmosphäre des gesamten Treffens. Maßgeblich verantwortlich für das Gelingen desselben war auch die Präsenz von OB Maisch und die sehr gute Organisation der Pressereferentin der Stadt Vaihingen Frau Fischer und ihrem Team.